Abdominal Transplant Surgery Fellowship

Mayo Clinic Arizona

General SurgeryTransplant SurgeryClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Phoenix, Arizona, United States

Overview

Two-year multi-organ abdominal transplant fellowship certified by the TACC to train two fellows a year in a high-volume programme.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years
Start
Institution policyMayo Clinic School of GME academic year begins 1 July (matched trainees report to MCSGME orientation on 1 July)
Positions
2 per year
Accreditation
TACC (Transplant Accreditation and Certification Council)
Department
Transplant Center

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policyGraduates of non-US medical schools eligible if ECFMG-certified before appointment (applicants still obtaining certification may interview but cannot be ranked or appointed) or holding a full unrestricted licence in the programme state; Canadian graduates after 1 July 2025 also need ECFMG certification
Visa support
Institution policyMayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education supports ECFMG J-1 and H-1B visas (Mayo selects visa type). Since the Sept 2025 $100,000 H-1B fee, Mayo will not file new H-1B petitions that trigger the fee - H-1B only for change/extension of status (USMLE Steps 1-3 required); otherwise ECFMG J-1 (Steps 1-2, ACGME-accredited/recognised programme). F-1 OPT accepted for first year for US-school graduates
Licence requirement
Institution policyArizona trainees must hold a full Arizona medical licence (if eligible: 12 months ACGME training for US/Canadian grads, 36 months for IMGs, USMLE 1-3) or an Arizona postgraduate training permit before day one; Mayo pays/reimburses

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Institution policyMCSGME resident/fellow stipend (effective 11 March 2026): Graduate Level 1 $75,105; L2 $77,721; L3 $80,936; L4 $85,398; L5 $89,036; L6 $92,376; L7 $95,417; L8 $99,058; L9 $102,594; L10 $106,096

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Mayo Clinic