Overview
An ACGME-accredited programme focused on perioperative care for complex cardiac and thoracic surgery, transplantation, mechanical support and advanced cardiovascular procedures.
The programme
- Focus
- Adult cardiothoracic anaesthesia
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Annual academic intake
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed anaesthesiology residency; accreditation and licensing requirements apply
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs eligible if their school is in the World Directory/FAIMER and they hold a valid ECFMG certificate at application; non-US citizens need permanent residence, an appropriate visa or DACA
- Visa support
- Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- SF Match
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation
Official sources
https://anesthesia.ucsf.edu/opportunities/cardiac-anesthesiahttps://meded.ucsf.edu/gme-resident-and-fellow-resource-hub/salary-and-benefitshttps://meded.ucsf.edu/sites/meded.ucsf.edu/files/Housestaff%20Info%20Booklet%2003_19_2026.pdfhttps://surgeryeducation.ucsf.edu/general-surgery-residency-eligibility-recruitment-and-selection-policy
Official page returns HTTP 403 to automated fetch (curl and WebFetch); other anesthesia.ucsf.edu pages also blocked. Search index snippet of the official page indicates SF Match participation and remote interviews January-April, but page could not be verified directly; fields left unchanged.