Overview
A Royal College-accredited year achieving Level III echocardiography competence in a high-volume lab (1,000+ stress echos, 400–500 TEEs per year) including structural and intraoperative guidance.
The programme
- Focus
- Cardiac imaging (echocardiography)
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- July (Block 1) or the following January (Block 8)
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada – Area of Focused Competence (AFC); Diplomate certificate eligible
- Department
- Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Queen's University
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Cardiology training; international applicants need specialist certification (or MCCQE Part 1 where applicable) and proof of English proficiency
- International applicants
- Yes – self-funded/unfunded international applicants apply directly (MCCQE1 if applicable, specialist certification, English proficiency); applicants funded by listed sponsoring countries cannot apply directly
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- CPSO licensure required (not detailed on page)
How to apply
- Deadline
- About 18 months before start (e.g., 1 January of the preceding year for a July start); accepting applications for 2028–2029
- Application method
- Submit application package to the division (CV, degree, transcripts, three references, personal statement, passport copy)
Funding
- Funding
- Competitive salary with health, dental and vision benefits plus travel allowance