Overview
AO-funded short-term spine surgery fellowship placement at Oslo University Hospital (Oslo), a department performing about 2500 surgical cases a year.
The programme
- Focus
- Spine surgery
- Training type
- Short-term International Fellowship (observership with scrub-in where permitted)
- Duration
- 4–12 weeks
- Start
- Placement year after selection
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- AO Foundation fellowship host centre
- Department
- Neurosurgery department
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Spine physician or orthopaedic, neuro- or trauma surgeon with strong interest in spine surgery; at least one prior AO course/event; at least two years' AO membership; no AO Spine fellowship in past two years (except self-funded); up to 45 years old
- International applicants
- Yes – AO global programme; fellows from any country are placed by AO regional fellowship coordinators (membership and course prerequisites apply)
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Scrub-in: Yes; additional licence/requirement to scrub in: Fellows are allowed to scrub in to observe.. Dominant OR language: Norwegian (team English level (5)/5). Documents required: 1. Mandatory screening for Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA) upon arrival in Oslo, analysis result must be ready before admission to clinical setting. 2. Tuberculosis screening, if the fellow during the last three years have stayed f
How to apply
- Deadline
- 2027 call closed; 2028 call opens April 2027 (closes May 2027, results September 2027)
- Application method
- Online application to the AO Foundation during the open call (host centres allocated by AO); not directly to the hospital
Funding
- Funding
- AO Spine fellowship support (amount not stated on page)