Specialist Training in Anaesthesiology (Swiss federal title, national pathway)

SIWF / ISFM (Swiss Institute for Medical Education)

AnaesthesiologyAdvanced clinical anaesthesiaSpecialist training programme
Destination
CHE
Bern, Switzerland

Overview

National SIWF programme for the federal specialist title in Anaesthesiology, combining anaesthesia training with mandatory intensive-care time at recognised sites.

The programme

Focus
General Anaesthesiology
Training type
Specialist training programme
Duration
5 years: 3-4.5 years anaesthesiology, 6-24 months intensive care, optional 6-12 months in listed fields or research
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
Federal specialist title (eidg. Facharzttitel) awarded by SIWF; programme accredited by the Federal Department of Home Affairs on 22 August 2025 (programme of 1 January 2013, last revised 26 June 2025).
Department
Not stated on official page

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Medical graduates.
International applicants
Foreign training creditable under Art. 33 WBO; at least 2 years of specialty-specific clinical training must be done at recognised Swiss anaesthesiology sites.
Visa support
Not stated on official page
Licence requirement
Admission to the specialist examination requires a Swiss federal or recognised foreign medical diploma (Art. 23 WBO).

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Apply individually for resident (Assistenzarzt) posts at SIWF-recognised training sites (searchable in the SIWF register, www.siwf-register.ch); the title is then applied for through SIWF once all requirements, including the specialist exam, are met.

Funding

Funding
Not stated on official page

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at SIWF / ISFM (Swiss Institute for Medical Education)