Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship

Columbia University Irving Medical Center

AnaesthesiologyPaediatric anaesthesiaClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
New York, United States

Overview

Fellows care for children from the neonatal period through adolescence, with longitudinal exposure to pediatric cardiac anesthesia, regional techniques, pain and perioperative medicine.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year
Start
Institution policyNYP GME appointment year generally runs 1 July to 30 June
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Completion of an ACGME-accredited anesthesiology residency before starting.
International applicants
Institution policyInternational medical graduates eligible for NYP GME appointment with a valid ECFMG certificate (or a full NY licence); prerequisite training must be ACGME/AOA/RCPSC/CFPC or ACGME-I (Advanced Specialty) accredited, with a GMEC-approved exception route for exceptionally qualified IMGs; J-1 (ECFMG) visa only
Visa support
Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian GME accepts foreign nationals only with J-1 (ECFMG) status or their own work authorisation; no H-1B, H-1B1, F-1 or E-3 sponsorship; O-1 supported only in very limited cases (NYP GME Visa Rules, 2027 recruitment packet)
Licence requirement
Institution policy (NY State Education Dept): trainees in ACGME-accredited programmes do not need a NY physician licence or limited permit; other (non-ACGME) clinical fellowship posts require a NY licence or limited permit (IMGs need ECFMG certification). NYP reimburses initial licence fee ($735) and renewals

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
SF Match (Pediatric Anesthesiology) and outside the Match for special circumstances; submit checklist, application form and materials to the division administrative assistant (Vicki Risser) as early as possible

Funding

Funding
Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian 2026-27 house-staff salary PGY1 $96,600; PGY2 $107,000; PGY3 $115,700; PGY4 $119,100; PGY5 $123,000; PGY6 $125,200; PGY7 $129,100, plus $7,500 living supplement, $1,000 academic stipend, $2,000 Lyft credit and $2,160 meal stipend

Official sources

Optional second year in pediatric cardiac anesthesia offered. Dates, positions, funding and visa not stated.

Similar programmes

More at Columbia University / NewYork-Presbyterian