Overview
Six-month ESCP robotic colorectal fellowship training fellows to perform standard robotic procedures (rectopexy, sigmoidectomy, right colectomy, low anterior resection) at an approved host centre.
The programme
- Focus
- Colorectal surgery (robotic)
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship (society-funded)
- Duration
- 6 months
- Start
- Start date defined by ESCP; must commence within 12 months of award
- Positions
- Four six-month fellowships across all host centres for 2026
- Accreditation
- European Society of Coloproctology (ESCP) fellowship host centre (supervisor: Eddy Cotte)
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- ESCP member (fully paid) for at least 12 months; board-certified in general surgery (e.g. CCT) with at least five years of higher surgical training; senior trainee or early-career consultant (ideally ≤2 years as consultant); evidence of basic robotic training (full simulation certificate or ≥2-day robotic course); demonstrated interest in coloproctology
- International applicants
- Open to ESCP members meeting the criteria; page does not restrict nationality, but host-country licence, work permission and language are the candidate's responsibility
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Valid licence to practise colorectal surgery in the host country required; candidates secure their own licence and work permission (fellowship forfeited if not obtained within four months); must communicate and practise in the host centre's native language
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications closed for 2026
- Application method
- Online application to ESCP; possible interview; fellows provide a video and written report
Funding
- Funding
- Supported by a grant from Intuitive (amount not stated)