Overview
An interdisciplinary, multi-campus programme at VUMC and VA Tennessee Valley that has trained over 30 fellows since 2008, with clinical and research tracks.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year clinical (research tracks add 2 years)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited
- Department
- Section of Palliative Care, Division of General Internal Medicine and Public Health
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed ACGME-accredited, AOA-approved, ACGME-I Advanced Specialty-accredited, or RCPSC/CFPC-accredited residency.
- International applicants
- Institution policyForeign medical graduates eligible with a valid ECFMG certificate (or full unrestricted Tennessee licence); programme-specific requirements also apply
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 via ECFMG; H-1B considered case by case by programme with GME; no new O-1 applications supported
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyHouse staff train under a Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners licence exemption obtained by GME; full Tennessee licence needed for moonlighting and for non-ACGME clinical fellows with a secondary faculty appointment
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Virtual interviews
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on VUMC stipend scale (effective 1/1/2026): PGY4 $81,933, PGY5 $84,801, PGY6 $87,769, PGY7 $90,841
Official sources
https://medicine.vumc.org/divisions/general-internal-medicine-public-health/sections/palliative-care/fellowshiphttps://www.vumc.org/gme/sites/default/files/public_files/house-staff/house-staff-man-2026/2026.07.01-1A-Conditions-of-Employment-and-Continued-Employment.pdfhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/applicantshttps://www.vumc.org/gme/license-and-dea-informationhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/stipends