Medical Retina Fellowship

W.K. Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan Medical School

OphthalmologyMedical retinaClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States

Overview

One-year medical retina fellowship spanning uveitis, pediatric retina, inherited degenerations, electrophysiology, ultrasound and oncology, with optional cataract surgery.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
Participates in the AUPO-sponsored retina fellowship
Department
Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Institution policyinternational graduates need a valid ECFMG certificate and eligibility for Michigan licensure; Michigan medical and controlled substance licences required
International applicants
Institution policyYes - non-US medical graduates must hold a current ECFMG certificate and be eligible for a State of Michigan licence; non-US citizens need ECFMG J-1, permanent residence or qualifying EAD
Visa support
Institution policyJ-1 sponsored by ECFMG (or permanent residence / qualifying EAD); other visas only in very limited circumstances, case by case at Program Director discretion with prospective GME Committee approval
Licence requirement
Institution policyState of Michigan medical licence and controlled substance licence (Educational Limited or Permanent) required; permanent-licence holders also need a personal DEA registration

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
SF Match (no direct applications)

Funding

Funding
Institution policyhouse officers paid on the UM/HOA scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) HO I $77,049, HO IV $86,670, HO V $90,137, HO VI $93,742, HO VII $97,492 up to HO IX $105,447, plus annual lump-sum savings payment and benefits

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at University of Michigan