Overview
A microvascular reconstructive surgery fellowship with an estimated 100–150 free flaps a year across head and neck, breast, trunk, extremity and facial reanimation reconstruction.
The programme
- Focus
- Microsurgery
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 1 per year
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Plastic Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs from non-LCME schools must hold ECFMG certification before entry; non-US citizens need employer-sponsored visa (J-1/H-1B per programme)
- Visa support
- Institution policyUPMC ME programmes may (not required to) offer J-1 via ECFMG and/or H-1B; programme can offer either or both; H-1B requires USMLE Steps 1-3 passed by match date
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyPennsylvania graduate medical training licence required (within 60 days of contract start)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Microsurgery match; interviews held in May
Funding
- Funding
- Educational stipend included in salary; three weeks' vacation
Official sources
https://www.plasticsurgery.pitt.edu/education/clinical-fellowship-programs/microsurgery-fellowshiphttps://residency.dom.pitt.edu/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/UPMC-Resident-and-Visa-Policy-2025.pdfhttps://dam.upmc.com/-/media/hillmanresearch/education-training/documents/resident_fellow_training_agreement.pdf