Overview
A one-year ACGME-accredited fellowship providing interventional, multimodal and multidisciplinary training in acute and chronic pain across multiple clinical sites.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- One year
- Start
- Institution policyMount Sinai Health System resident/clinical fellow appointments commence 1 July
- Positions
- Four fellows per year
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited
- Department
- Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine (Mount Sinai West / Mount Sinai Morningside)
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs accepted with valid ECFMG certificate; may not begin training until an appropriate visa is obtained
- Visa support
- Institution policyMount Sinai Health System offers J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (categorical candidates in programmes of 2+ years, ECFMG-certified with USMLE Step 3 passed by Match) plus E-3 for Australians; programme director decides which is offered
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyResidents/fellows in ACGME-accredited programmes do not need a New York State licence (supervised practice exemption); non-ACGME fellows need a valid NY licence or limited permit
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyACGME fellows paid by PGY level (Mount Sinai Hospital stipend effective January 2026: PGY4 $106,313, PGY5 $110,565); non-ACGME fellow pay set by programme funds
Official sources
https://icahn.mssm.edu/education/residencies-fellowships/list/msw-msm-pain-fellowshiphttps://icahn.mssm.edu/files/ISMMS/Assets/Education/Resources/MSHS-House-Staff-Manual.pdfhttps://icahn.mssm.edu/files/ISMMS/Assets/Education/Residencies%20Fellowships/Non-Immigrant%20Visas_2018.pdfhttps://icahn.mssm.edu/education/residencies-fellowships/list/msh-physical-medicine-and-rehabilitation-residency/salary-benefits