Overview
National structured post-specialist fellowship (DOG Glaucoma Section) aimed at expertise in surgical glaucoma care; delivered at DOG-certified centres across Germany under a certified mentor.
The programme
- Training type
- Subspecialty training programme
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Not yet verified
- Duration
- Minimum 2 years
- Start
- Possible once both the clinic and a mentor are certified (programme introduced September 2024)
- Positions
- Each mentor may supervise at most 2 fellows simultaneously
- Accreditation
- Fellowship certificate of the Deutsche Ophthalmologische Gesellschaft (DOG) and Berufsverband der Augenärzte Deutschlands (BVA); centres and mentors certified by DOG
- Department
- Not yet verified
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Board-certified ophthalmologists (completed Facharzt training) employed at a DOG-certified training centre (at least 16 hours/week); membership of DOG and BVA required
- Qualification requirement
- Board-certified ophthalmologists (completed Facharzt training) employed at a DOG-certified training centre (at least 16 hours/week)
- Citizenship requirement
- Not yet verified
- Practice location requirement
- Not yet verified
- Membership requirement
- membership of DOG and BVA required
- Eligibility restrictions
- Fellows must be employed at the certified German centre; fellowships with international specialists count only if a certified mentor and the relevant DOG section confirm equivalence
- Language
- Not yet verified
- Teaching language
- Not yet verified
- Clinical language
- Not yet verified
- International applicants
- Fellows must be employed at the certified German centre; fellowships with international specialists count only if a certified mentor and the relevant DOG section confirm equivalence
- Licence requirement
- German medical licence and specialist (Facharzt) recognition in ophthalmology
- Visa route
- Not yet verified
- Visa sponsorship
- Not yet verified
- Visa support
- Not stated on the official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on the official page
- Application method
- Centre registers the fellow with the DOG office using the programme application forms; certificate issued on mentor confirmation and recommendation
- Documents
- Not yet verified
- Contact
- Not yet verified
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- programme fees EUR 267.50 per centre, EUR 267.50 per fellow and EUR 160.50 per mentor
- Application fee
- Not yet verified
- Stipend / salary
- Not yet verified
- Scholarship
- Not yet verified
- Funding
- Fellows are employed and paid by the training centre; programme fees EUR 267.50 per centre, EUR 267.50 per fellow and EUR 160.50 per mentor
Sources and verification
https://dog.org/wissenschaft-lehre/fellowships/glaukom-chirurgiehttps://dog.org/wissenschaft-und-lehre/fellowships-weiterbildung-der-dog
Evidence by field
- Qualification requirement: legacy record not reverified; checked not recorded. Source 1 Source 2 Derived from Eligibility.
- Membership requirement: legacy record not reverified; checked not recorded. Source 1 Source 2 Derived from Eligibility.
- Eligibility restrictions: legacy record not reverified; checked not recorded. Source 1 Source 2 Derived from International applicants.
- Tuition / fees: legacy record not reverified; checked not recorded. Source 1 Source 2 Derived from Funding.