Overview
Clinical and research training in paediatric haematology, oncology and stem-cell transplantation at Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital and Stanford Cancer Institute.
The programme
- Focus
- Hematology & oncology
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Institution policyStanford GME contracts are issued per academic year (1 July - 30 June); standard start late June/1 July
- Positions
- 3 per year (9 fellows total)
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed ACGME-approved paediatric residency; ERAS and NRMP requirements apply
- International applicants
- Limited
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 (ECFMG) is the primary visa; H-1B permitted only in some circumstances with GME approval; O-1 rarely, varies by department
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyMedical Board of California Postgraduate Training License required within 180 days of starting an ACGME programme (USMLE Steps 1 & 2 CK passed); non-ACGME programmes require a full California licence by the start date
How to apply
- Deadline
- ERAS: submit within 30 days, ideally by mid-August; interviews August-October
- Application method
- ERAS and NRMP
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on Stanford Health Care housestaff scale 2026-27: PGY4 $113,276.80, PGY5 $119,558.40, PGY6 $124,280.00, PGY7 $130,540.80 (base includes housing allowance)
Official sources
https://www.med.stanford.edu/phosctrm/education/fellowship.htmlhttps://med.stanford.edu/gme/housestaff/incoming/img_visa.htmlhttps://med.stanford.edu/gme/housestaff/current/ca_md_license.htmlhttps://med.stanford.edu/gme/housestaff/current/stipends.htmlhttps://med.stanford.edu/content/dam/sm/gme/policy/GME_PandP_2026-2027-v26.pdf