Overview
Trains physician scientists to become independent investigators across tracks including infectious disease, disaster medicine, data science and health services research.
The programme
- Training type
- Research Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years standard (1 year with advanced degree; 3 years for PhD/GTPCI)
- Start
- Usually 1 July; mid-year considered
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Emergency Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Board prepared or certified in EM; recommendation from an EM researcher
- International applicants
- Institution policyJohns Hopkins SOM accepts international residents/fellows via J-1 ECFMG Alien Physician Exchange Visitor sponsorship (applies to those joining from abroad or already in the US in another status); H-1B only in limited circumstances
- Visa support
- Institution policyJohns Hopkins SOM sponsors incoming residents/fellows for J-1 (ECFMG); H-1B only in limited cases (US MD graduates on OPT in ACGME training, or trainees already on H-1B in ACGME-accredited/recognised training with sufficient H-1B time remaining) - GME policy P&F028
- Licence requirement
- Institution policy (Maryland Board of Physicians): residents and fellows train as registered unlicensed practitioners through their programme; a full Maryland licence requires 1 year (US/Canadian grads) or ECFMG + 2 years (IMGs) of accredited postgraduate training plus licensing exams
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- CV and 2 letters of recommendation via the online portal
Funding
- Funding
- 800 clinical hours per year in the ED; degree options MPH, MHSc or PhD