Overview
Interventional radiology training following the Malaysian Board of Interventional Radiology, SIR and European curricula, with rotations across accredited centres.
The programme
- Training type
- Subspecialty Training
- Duration
- Minimum 3 years at UMMC and accredited Malaysian centres (up to 1 year overseas)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Malaysian Board of Interventional Radiology (MBIR), College of Radiology, Academy of Medicine Malaysia
- Department
- Department of Biomedical Imaging
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Clinical radiologists with recognised postgraduate radiology qualification (MMed/MRad or equivalent); NSR registration and College of Radiology membership for local trainees; at least 12 months as clinical radiologist; CV and 2 referees; vetted by UMMC and MBIR; General UMMC requirements: Master's degree/clinical master or equivalent recognised by the Malaysian Medical Council (MMC); registration with MMC; Professional Visit Pass (PLIK) approval; support of Head of Clinical Department; approval by UMMC Credentialing and Privileging Committee
- International applicants
- Yes - UMMC states its Clinical Fellowship Programme is offered to both local and overseas candidates; non-Malaysian fees apply
- Visa support
- Professional Visit Pass (PLIK) approved by the Immigration Department of Malaysia is a stated requirement
- Licence requirement
- Registration with the Malaysian Medical Council
How to apply
- Deadline
- Non-Malaysians: apply at least 6 months before the training start date; accept offer within 1 month of offer letter
- Application method
- Apply online via the UMMC Fellowship/Training Attachment Programme e-services portal (register and log in)
Funding
- Funding
- Self-funded training fee: non-Malaysian RM36,000 per year (Malaysian RM18,000) plus RM100 management fee, prorated monthly; 15% discount for Lower Middle Income and 30% for Low Income Countries (World Bank)