Trauma and Acute Care Surgery Fellowship

Foothills Medical Centre, University of Calgary

General SurgeryTrauma & acute care surgeryClinical Fellowship
Destination
CAN
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Overview

One-year clinical trauma and acute care surgery fellowship at Southern Alberta's provincial Level 1 trauma centre treating about 1,500 trauma patients a year.

The programme

Focus
Trauma & acute care surgery / surgical critical care
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
1–2 per year
Accreditation
Not stated on official page
Department
Department of Surgery, Section of General Surgery (Office of Surgical Fellowship)

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Completed or completing RCPSC (or equivalent) accredited residency; eligible for a CPSA educational or independent licence
International applicants
Institution policyInternational medical graduates accepted as International Clinical Fellows or Sponsored Fellows if they hold a CPSA-acceptable medical degree, completed residency, verify credentials via physiciansapply.ca, meet CPSA English-language requirements and obtain a work permit; funding must come from a PGME-approved source
Visa support
Institution policyInternational fellows need an IRCC work permit valid for the whole fellowship; PGME supplies the LMIA-exemption number for the application and fellows cannot start (or enter Canada for training) without it
Licence requirement
Institution policyA current CPSA (College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta) postgraduate training licence must be issued before training starts (renewed annually from May; includes criminal record/vulnerable sector check and CPSA English-proficiency rules); CMPA liability protection also required

How to apply

Deadline
31 May 2027 for 2028/2029
Application method
Application via the Office of Surgical Fellowship

Funding

Funding
Compensation per Office of Surgical Fellowship policies

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at University of Calgary