Overview
Two-year AUPO FCC-compliant medical and surgical retina fellowship based primarily at the UNC Kittner Eye Center.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 1 every 12 months
- Accreditation
- AUPO FCC compliant
- Department
- Department of Ophthalmology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Must obtain an unrestricted North Carolina medical licence before beginning the fellowship (all 3 parts of USMLE must be passed)
- International applicants
- Institution policyForeign graduates must be ECFMG-certified and eligible for J-1 visa (H-1B not sponsored)
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 (ECFMG) only; H-1B visas are not sponsored at UNC Hospitals
- Licence requirement
- Unrestricted North Carolina medical licence required before starting; all three USMLE steps must be passed
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- SF Match CAS retina fellowship application
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UNC Hospitals GME scale (effective 1 Jul 2025): PGY4 $72,627; PGY5 $75,850; PGY6 $78,767; PGY7 $83,058; PGY8 $87,351
Official sources
https://www.med.unc.edu/ophth/education-programs/fellowship-training-programs/vitreo-retinal-fellowship/https://www.uncmedicalcenter.org/uncmc/professional-education-and-services/office-of-graduate-medical-education/applicants/https://www.uncmedicalcenter.org/uncmc/professional-education-and-services/office-of-graduate-medical-education/benefits-for-residents/