Overview
A multidisciplinary critical care fellowship with three pathways: 12-month anesthesiology-based CCM, 24-month combined CCM and adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, and 24-month emergency medicine-based CCM.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months (anesthesiology pathway) or 24 months (combined CCM/cardiothoracic or emergency medicine pathways)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited (department states it offers ten ACGME-accredited fellowships); graduates eligible for critical care board certification
- Department
- Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Anesthesiology-based or emergency medicine-based applicants depending on pathway
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs must be ECFMG-certified and hold an ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visa for clinical training at UTSW
- Visa support
- Institution policyClinical residents/fellows (ACGME and non-ACGME) on J-1 sponsored by ECFMG; UTSW does not usually sponsor H-1B for clinical training
- Licence requirement
- State requirement: Texas Medical Board Physician-in-Training (PIT) permit for participation in a Board-approved GME/fellowship programme (supervised practice only)
How to apply
- Deadline
- 30 April 2027 (interviews February-April)
- Application method
- SF Match
Funding
- Funding
- $1,750 educational funds and $1,300 presentation funds; 20 PTO/discretionary days
Official sources
https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/critical-care-medicine.htmlhttps://www.utsouthwestern.edu/departments/anesthesiology/education/fellowships/https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/about-us/administrative-offices/international-affairs/postdocs-clinical-trainees-employees/h-1b/https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/about-us/administrative-offices/international-affairs/postdocs-clinical-trainees-employees/j1-ecfmg/https://www.tmb.texas.gov/apply-renew/physician/physician-apply/physician-in-training-permit-application