Overview
Clinical fellowships at a division performing approximately 1,100 open-heart cases a year, including high-risk coronary, complex mitral repair and endovascular aortic arch surgery.
The programme
- Focus
- Adult cardiac
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months (may be extended during the fellowship)
- Start
- Institution policyUniversity of Toronto PGME academic year runs 1 July - 30 June (letters of appointment issued per academic year; off-cycle starts possible)
- Positions
- 2–3 per year
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Division of Cardiac Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Certified cardiac surgeon in Canada or country of origin, or passed MCCQE
- International applicants
- Open to Canadian and international surgeons; IMG fellows must complete a 4–12 week Pre-Entry Assessment Period (PEAP); TOEFL/TSE or TOEFL-iBT (93, speaking 24) if medical school instruction was not in English
- Visa support
- Institution policyinternational clinical fellows need an IRCC work permit; the PGME Office issues an LMIA-exempt offer of employment number and supports the work permit application
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyclinical fellows must hold a CPSO certificate of registration authorising postgraduate education (educational licence); research fellows do not need CPSO registration
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Contact the Division Head, Cardiovascular Surgery, St. Michael's Hospital
Funding
- Funding
- Varies: some fellows self-funded, some sponsored by their country or external agency, some funded by the hospital division (set out in the job-offer letter)