Overview
National SIWF programme for the federal specialist title in Occupational Medicine. Combines clinical rotations with occupational-medicine training at category A or B sites and an SGARM-recognised course of at least 280 hours (9 ECTS).
The programme
- Training type
- Specialist training programme
- Duration
- 5 years: 2.5 years specialty-specific occupational medicine plus 2.5 years non-specific training (including 1 year General Internal Medicine); full programme may be done part-time
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Federal specialist title (eidg. Facharzttitel) awarded by SIWF; programme accredited by the Federal Department of Home Affairs on 12 August 2025 (programme of 1 January 2001, last revised 6 June 2013).
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Medical graduates; holders of an existing federal or recognised foreign specialist title have the whole non-specific part credited.
- International applicants
- Foreign training creditable under Art. 33 WBO; at least 15 months of specialty-specific training must be completed at recognised Swiss occupational-medicine sites. Theoretical courses abroad need Title Commission approval.
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Admission to the specialist examination requires a Swiss federal or recognised foreign medical diploma (Art. 23 WBO).
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Apply individually for resident (Assistenzarzt) posts at SIWF-recognised training sites (searchable in the SIWF register, www.siwf-register.ch); the title is then applied for through SIWF once all requirements, including the specialist exam, are met.
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page