Overview
International postdoctoral research fellowship in ophthalmology at UCSF requiring a faculty host; the next fellowship begins July 2028.
The programme
- Focus
- Clinical research
- Training type
- Research Fellowship
- Duration
- Not stated on official page
- Start
- July 2028 (next intake)
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Ophthalmology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Requires a UCSF faculty host/sponsor (clinical-fellowship requirements do not apply)
- International applicants
- Yes - international postdoctoral research fellowship
- Visa support
- Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications accepted 1-31 August 2027 only
- Application method
- Email application to the fellowship coordinator (Delphean.Quan@ucsf.edu) during the application window
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation
Official sources
https://ophthalmology.ucsf.edu/fellowship-programs/https://surgeryeducation.ucsf.edu/general-surgery-residency-eligibility-recruitment-and-selection-policyhttps://meded.ucsf.edu/gme-resident-and-fellow-resource-hub/salary-and-benefitshttps://meded.ucsf.edu/sites/meded.ucsf.edu/files/Housestaff%20Info%20Booklet%2003_19_2026.pdf