Overview
National subspecialty qualification in rheumatology awarded by the College of Physicians of South Africa after at least 18 months in a numbered subspecialty trainee post and an exit examination (written and clinical components).
The programme
- Training type
- Subspecialty training programme
- Specialty associations
- Not yet verified
- Learning format
- Not yet verified
- Duration
- Minimum 18 months in a numbered subspecialty trainee post
- Start
- Not stated on the official page
- Positions
- Not stated on the official page (numbered posts at training institutions)
- Accreditation
- Colleges of Medicine of South Africa; qualification registrable with the HPCSA (being renamed from Certificate to Fellowship in the subspecialty)
- Department
- Not yet verified
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Registered specialist physician (FCP(SA) or equivalent) with certification of at least 18 months in a numbered subspecialty trainee post and a completed logbook.
- Qualification requirement
- Registered specialist physician (FCP(SA) or equivalent) with certification of at least 18 months in a numbered subspecialty trainee post and a completed logbook.
- Citizenship requirement
- Not yet verified
- Practice location requirement
- Not yet verified
- Membership requirement
- Not yet verified
- Eligibility restrictions
- Not yet verified
- Language
- Not yet verified
- Teaching language
- Not yet verified
- Clinical language
- Not yet verified
- International applicants
- Not stated on the official page
- Licence requirement
- Registration with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA)
- Visa route
- Not yet verified
- Visa sponsorship
- Not yet verified
- Visa support
- Not stated on the official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Logbooks/portfolios due 15 August (first-semester exams; applications 1 Oct–15 Nov) or 15 February (second-semester; applications 1 Apr–15 May)
- Application method
- Apply for the exit examination via the CMSA online examination portal after completing training and the logbook.
- Documents
- Not yet verified
- Contact
- Not yet verified
Funding and costs
- Tuition / fees
- Not yet verified
- Application fee
- Not yet verified
- Stipend / salary
- Examination fee R 24 650 (training posts are salaried registrar positions)
- Scholarship
- Not yet verified
- Funding
- Examination fee R 24 650 (training posts are salaried registrar positions)