Overview
A three-year ACGME-accredited neonatology fellowship training clinical scientists in Duke's 74-bed NICU serving about 4,000 deliveries a year.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 3 per year (9 current fellows)
- Accreditation
- ACGME
- Department
- Duke Department of Pediatrics
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Institution policyLCME/AOA-accredited MD/DO graduates, or international graduates with a valid ECFMG certificate or full unrestricted US licence; NC full licence or RTL, I-9 employment eligibility, background and NPDB checks
- International applicants
- Institution policyYes - graduates of medical schools outside the US/Canada are eligible if they hold a valid ECFMG certificate or a full unrestricted US licence
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 alien physician status sponsored by ECFMG with Duke's assistance; Duke is H-1B cap-exempt and H-1B is possible for clinical trainees who have passed USMLE Steps 1-3 and hold an ECFMG certificate (individual programmes decide which visas they accept)
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyNorth Carolina full medical licence or Resident Training License (RTL) required before clinical duties
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS; NRMP match participation (stated on official page)
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyGME trainees paid on the Duke stipend scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) PGY-1 $71,052 rising to PGY-4 $79,908, PGY-5 $82,992, PGY-6 $86,292, PGY-7 $90,036 (up to PGY-12 $106,800), plus benefits
Official sources
https://pediatrics.duke.edu/education/fellowship-programs/neonatologyhttps://visaservices.duke.edu/visa-categories/j-1-visa-classification/https://visaservices.duke.edu/visa-categories/h-1b-visa-classification/https://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/employment-requirementshttps://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/stipends/physician-trainee-stipends