Overview
A 12-month fellowship focused on breast, melanoma and trauma reconstruction combining Sunnybrook's trauma centre and cancer centre exposure.
The programme
- Focus
- Microsurgery / breast and oncologic reconstruction
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 1
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Division of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Certified plastic surgeon in Canada or country of origin (or passed MCCQE)
- International applicants
- International graduates accepted; all IMG fellows must complete a 4–12 week Pre-Entry Assessment Period (PEAP); TOEFL required if medical school instruction was not in English
- Visa support
- University of Toronto PGME Office assists non-Canadian fellows in obtaining a work permit
- Licence requirement
- Must be licensed by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO), with CMPA coverage
How to apply
- Deadline
- 1 May 2026 for the 2027–2028 academic year
- Application method
- Letter of interest with start date, two letters of recommendation, two additional referees, CV and TOEFL proof if applicable, sent to the Sunnybrook office manager
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyclinical fellows must be funded (department or sponsoring agency); FEAC recommends pay at least equal to PGY1 on the PARO salary scale, and foreign nationals must be paid at a rate commensurate with a Canadian in the same role
Official sources
https://www.uoftplasticsurgery.ca/education/fellowships/fellowship-positions/oncologic-and-microvascular-reconstruction/https://www.uoftplasticsurgery.ca/education/fellowships/general-information-and-guidelines/https://pgme.utoronto.ca/fellowship-education-advisory-committee-guidelines-remuneration-clinical-fellows