Overview
ACGME-accredited multidisciplinary training in acute, chronic and cancer pain, combining interventional procedures with medical, physical and behavioural approaches.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME
- Department
- Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care (UCSF Center for Pain Medicine)
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed core residency; appointees must qualify for boards in their primary discipline; full unrestricted California licence required
- International applicants
- Limited
- Visa support
- Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
- Licence requirement
- Full, unrestricted California medical licence required
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS; NRMP Specialties Matching Service
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation