Overview
Three-year academic pediatric GI fellowship launched in 1981 that supports six fellows, with about one-third of time in inpatient clinical training.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Institution policyVUMC GME academic year begins 1 July in all GME programmes (the date most new residents and fellows begin training)
- Positions
- 2 per year (6 fellows total)
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Institution policyGraduate of LCME- or AOA-accredited US school, or IMG with valid ECFMG certificate/full Tennessee licence; prerequisite training must be ACGME, RCPSC/CFPC or ACGME-I accredited
- International applicants
- Institution policyForeign medical graduates eligible with a valid ECFMG certificate (or full unrestricted Tennessee licence); programme-specific requirements also apply
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 via ECFMG; H-1B considered case by case by programme with GME; no new O-1 applications supported
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyHouse staff train under a Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners licence exemption obtained by GME; full Tennessee licence needed for moonlighting and for non-ACGME clinical fellows with a secondary faculty appointment
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- NRMP
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on VUMC stipend scale (effective 1/1/2026): PGY4 $81,933, PGY5 $84,801, PGY6 $87,769, PGY7 $90,841
Official sources
https://pediatrics.vumc.org/gastroenterology-fellowshiphttps://www.vumc.org/gme/sites/default/files/public_files/pdf_updates/Program-Administrator-Manual_Updated-July-2026_rb-version.pdfhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/sites/default/files/public_files/house-staff/house-staff-man-2026/2026.07.01-1A-Conditions-of-Employment-and-Continued-Employment.pdfhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/applicantshttps://www.vumc.org/gme/sites/default/files/public_files/house-staff/house-staff-man-2026/2026.04.10-1N-House-Staff-Eligibility-and-Selection-Policy.pdfhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/license-and-dea-informationhttps://www.vumc.org/gme/stipends