Surgical Critical Care Fellowship at ZSFG

UCSF / Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

General SurgeryTrauma & acute care surgeryClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
San Francisco, California, United States

Overview

ACGME-accredited surgical critical care year at San Francisco's only Level 1 trauma centre, with rotations at UCSF Parnassus and CPMC, followed by an optional acute care surgery year.

The programme

Focus
Trauma & acute care surgery / surgical critical care
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year (plus optional ACS year)
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
UCSF Department of Surgery

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Fully trained board-eligible/certified surgeons who completed an ACGME (or equivalent) general surgery residency
International applicants
Institution policyIMGs eligible if their school is in the World Directory/FAIMER and they hold a valid ECFMG certificate at application; non-US citizens need permanent residence, an appropriate visa or DACA
Visa support
Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
Licence requirement
Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Application with three letters of recommendation and interview day

Funding

Funding
Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at UCSF