Vitreoretinal Surgery Fellowship

Cleveland Clinic Cole Eye Institute

OphthalmologyVitreoretinal surgeryClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Cleveland, Ohio, United States

Overview

A two-year vitreoretinal surgery fellowship in which fellows perform approximately 700-800 cases with surgical experience from day one.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
2 per year
Accreditation
Not stated on official page
Department
Cole Eye Institute

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Institution policyLCME/AOA graduates or IMGs with valid ECFMG certificate; ACGME fellows must have completed specialty prerequisite training (exceptional-candidate route where the RC allows)
International applicants
Institution policyIMGs eligible with a current valid ECFMG certificate; Cleveland Clinic holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so approved non-accredited fellowships can take ECFMG J-1 trainees
Visa support
Institution policyH-1B (requires USMLE Steps 1-3 passed; Step 3 results by 30 April for NRMP programmes) and J-1 (ECFMG); O-1 for fellows case by case; no permanent-residence sponsorship for trainees
Licence requirement
Institution policyPermanent or training medical licence/certificate from the state board where training (State Medical Board of Ohio training certificate for Ohio; Florida Board of Medicine for Florida) required before starting; some advanced/non-accredited fellowships require a permanent licence

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Commensurate with PGY-5/PGY-6; health, vision, dental; licence fees reimbursed; 15 vacation days

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Cleveland Clinic