Overview
An advanced one-year fellowship developing proficiency in surgical implantation and medical management of mechanical circulatory devices and heart transplantation, including donor procurement.
The programme
- Focus
- Heart transplant / mechanical circulatory support
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Institution policyWashU/BJH consortium stipend year runs 1 July - 30 June (standard start 1 July)
- Positions
- 1 per year
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed fellowship training at PGY-7 level or greater and ABS/ABTS requirements or equivalent
- International applicants
- Foreign medical graduates must have ECFMG certification; applicant must hold citizenship or appropriate visa status
- Visa support
- Institution policyWashU GME Consortium supports ECFMG J-1 visas (managed by institutional Training Program Liaisons); H-1B may be supported at department/programme discretion; WashU holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so non-accredited fellowships can host J-1 trainees
- Licence requirement
- Institution policy (Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts): residents and fellows in approved Missouri training programmes must hold a Missouri temporary licence (renewed annually; applied for via the hospital) before practising; IMGs need a permanent ECFMG certificate
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- CV, personal statement, two letters, USMLE Step 1–3 transcripts and ECFMG certificate (if applicable) to the programme coordinator
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyWashU/BJH/SLCH GME Consortium stipends 1 July 2026-30 June 2027: PGY1 $71,239; PGY2 $74,399; PGY3 $77,597; PGY4 $80,895; PGY5 $84,439; PGY6 $88,091; PGY7 $91,618; PGY8 $95,032; PGY9 $99,151 (all fellows paid PGY-based salary whether or not ACGME-accredited)