Overview
A 12-month multidisciplinary programme with at least nine months in high-acuity ICUs and three months of electives, plus mentored research, QI projects and CCM board review.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months (approved 24-month EM/CCM cycle also offered)
- Start
- Institution policyWashU GME appointment (stipend) year runs 1 July – 30 June
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME-approved
- Department
- Department of Anesthesiology, WashU Medicine (Barnes-Jewish Hospital / St. Louis Children's Hospital)
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Board-eligible in anesthesiology, surgery, obstetrics or emergency medicine
- International applicants
- Institution policyInternational graduates accepted via ECFMG J-1 sponsorship (H-1B at programme discretion); Missouri temporary licence requires a permanent ECFMG certificate
- Visa support
- Institution policyWashU GME Consortium supports ECFMG J-1 visas (managed by institutional Training Program Liaisons); H-1B may be supported at department/programme discretion; WashU holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so non-accredited fellowships can host J-1 trainees
- Licence requirement
- Institution policy (Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts): residents and fellows in approved Missouri training programmes must hold a Missouri temporary licence (renewed annually; applied for via the hospital) before practising; IMGs need a permanent ECFMG certificate
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- SF Match Central Application Service
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyWashU/BJH/SLCH GME Consortium stipends 1 July 2026-30 June 2027: PGY1 $71,239; PGY2 $74,399; PGY3 $77,597; PGY4 $80,895; PGY5 $84,439; PGY6 $88,091; PGY7 $91,618; PGY8 $95,032; PGY9 $99,151 (all fellows paid PGY-based salary whether or not ACGME-accredited)