Pain Medicine Fellowship

Washington University in St. Louis (WashU Medicine)

AnaesthesiologyChronic pain medicineClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
St. Louis, Missouri, United States

Overview

A one-year ACGME-accredited pain medicine fellowship at a tertiary referral and Level-1 trauma centre with ample interventional and multidisciplinary training, monthly cadaver labs and built-in non-clinical days.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
One year
Start
July
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
ACGME-accredited
Department
Department of Anesthesiology, WashU Medicine (Barnes-Jewish Hospital / St. Louis Children's Hospital)

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policyInternational graduates accepted via ECFMG J-1 sponsorship (H-1B at programme discretion); Missouri temporary licence requires a permanent ECFMG certificate
Visa support
Institution policyWashU GME Consortium supports ECFMG J-1 visas (managed by institutional Training Program Liaisons); H-1B may be supported at department/programme discretion; WashU holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so non-accredited fellowships can host J-1 trainees
Licence requirement
Institution policy (Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts): residents and fellows in approved Missouri training programmes must hold a Missouri temporary licence (renewed annually; applied for via the hospital) before practising; IMGs need a permanent ECFMG certificate

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
NRMP

Funding

Funding
Institution policyWashU/BJH/SLCH GME Consortium stipends 1 July 2026-30 June 2027: PGY1 $71,239; PGY2 $74,399; PGY3 $77,597; PGY4 $80,895; PGY5 $84,439; PGY6 $88,091; PGY7 $91,618; PGY8 $95,032; PGY9 $99,151 (all fellows paid PGY-based salary whether or not ACGME-accredited)

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Washington University in St. Louis