Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship

UCSF Health

AnaesthesiologyRegional anaesthesia & acute painClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
San Francisco, California, United States

Overview

Regional anaesthesia and perioperative pain training across UCSF, Zuckerberg San Francisco General and Kaiser South San Francisco sites.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year
Start
Institution policyMost UCSF residents/fellows are appointed for June-August start dates (off-cycle starts possible)
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policyIMGs eligible if their school is in the World Directory/FAIMER and they hold a valid ECFMG certificate at application; non-US citizens need permanent residence, an appropriate visa or DACA
Visa support
Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
Licence requirement
Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
SF Match (Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine match); virtual interviews February–April

Funding

Funding
Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation

Official sources

Direct curl/WebFetch returned 403; page content read via Exa page fetch of the official URL. Page confirms one-year ACGME-accredited programme via SF Match; dates deferred to SF Match calendar.

Similar programmes

More at UCSF