Overview
A one-year fellowship offering a broad spectrum of microsurgical and non-microsurgical cancer-defect reconstruction of head and neck, breast and sarcoma defects.
The programme
- Focus
- Microsurgery
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Institution policyUniversity of Toronto PGME academic year runs 1 July - 30 June (letters of appointment issued per academic year; off-cycle starts possible)
- Positions
- 2
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Division of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Certified plastic surgeon in Canada or country of origin (or passed MCCQE)
- International applicants
- International graduates accepted; all IMG fellows must complete a 4–12 week Pre-Entry Assessment Period (PEAP); TOEFL required if medical school instruction was not in English
- Visa support
- University of Toronto PGME Office assists non-Canadian fellows in obtaining a work permit
- Licence requirement
- Must be licensed by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO), with CMPA coverage
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Institution policyapply to the departmental Fellowship Program Director; sponsored international applicants apply through their sponsoring agency to the PGME Office
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyclinical fellows must be funded (department or sponsoring agency); FEAC recommends pay at least equal to PGY1 on the PARO salary scale, and foreign nationals must be paid at a rate commensurate with a Canadian in the same role
Official sources
https://www.uoftplasticsurgery.ca/education/fellowships/fellowship-positions/plastic-reconstructive-microsurgery/https://www.uoftplasticsurgery.ca/education/fellowships/general-information-and-guidelines/https://pgme.utoronto.ca/fellowship-education-advisory-committee-guidelines-remuneration-clinical-fellowshttps://pgme.utoronto.ca/fellowship-traininghttps://pgme.utoronto.ca/faqs-registration-process